Uh… hello

November 12, 2008 at 9:20 pm 34 comments

I’m setting up this blog in case anyone wants to follow future developments of Twitterank. Right now, Twitterank is spreading like a wildfire through Twitterverse, and that’s according to plan*. A lot of people seem to be asking “um, what’s the point?” The “point”, I assure you, is yet to come. Most of the interesting things can’t be done until lots of people have Twitteranks, but lots of people are indeed getting Twitteranks as we speak (about one a second, total of about 6500).

Also, you can follow Twitterank on twitter: t_rank

*Yeah, most of my previous plans never actually went according to plan, so I can’t say I was really prepared for this one. I probably wouldn’t have done this on DreamHost if I’d known things would go so well…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Some follow up…

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terri Boyle  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Neato! I like it. Now explain to me, please…is it better to have a smaller or larger Twitterank number?

    Reply
  • 2. jasd2d  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    If you answered this question somewhere else, I apologize for not seeing it, but….

    What is a “good” twitterank?

    Reply
  • 3. Quazuku  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Very nice. I’ll be following the blog from now on.

    Reply
  • 4. pinksage  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    it’s Twitter, come on! Nothing can fail on Twitter. šŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 5. MusicianOutletNetwork  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Well, look forward to your progress as well.

    Musician Outlet Network
    “Bring the music…”
    http://www.musicianoutletnetwork.com

    Reply
  • 6. Andrew  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    http://twitterank.com/?u=t_rank

    Heh – why is t_rank not known? Shouldn’t that have been first? Just pokin’ ya, awesome that you’ve held up under the twitter rush today.

    Reply
  • 7. Aria  |  November 12, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Yeap, so higher or lower twitterank number is what I want to have? šŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 8. Sandwiched  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    So…what’s an “average”score?

    Reply
  • 9. maria  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    What’s the highest possible score? I get the impression it must be at least 200?

    Reply
  • 10. David Lano  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Hi there,
    I just found your Twitter Rank website today and was looking through the FAQ and noticed that you offered to have someone else make things pretty. šŸ™‚ I’d be willing to make some sort of arrangement….

    Reply
  • 11. Grace  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Way to go! You must be proud & excited. Am looking forward to seeing how our rankings are used.

    Reply
  • 12. Dan Keeney, APR  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Uh hello is right. If you haven’t noticed there is widespread panic blazing through the Twittersphere because some are claiming that your are or plan to use their passwords to spam and/or take over Twitter identities. Seems like you might want to more forcefully address the fears that are spreading.

    Reply
  • 13. babaloo21  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Hi There,

    No offense but your blog doesn’t look very established and I am not comfortable entering my u/n and p/w into an unknown website. Your about page is still the boilerplate from the WordPress install. Just a thought you might want to update it.

    Good luck and I will keep an eye out. @babaloo21

    Reply
  • 14. Brody  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    What’s a “good” Twitter rank, or a “bad” one? mine’s 134. Am I winning?

    Reply
  • 15. d  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    congrats! i poke these kinds of ideas around my head all the time, so i know what you mean when you say you’d “planned” for the rapid attention.

    very cool tool.

    Reply
  • […] author has very little to say so far but is providing this item below and a bit more here: Iā€™m setting up this blog in case anyone wants to follow future developments of Twitterank. Right […]

    Reply
  • 17. Nathan  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    So, it would be nice if you had a graph to see where your score lines up in the grand scheme.

    Reply
  • 18. Tee Morris  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    I dropped in my name without using a password…got the result page…very clever.

    I would love to hear how many people blindly handed over their passwords…

    Reply
  • 19. austin  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Cuil is to Google as @twitterank is to @grader

    Reply
  • 20. jpluna  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Can you clarify claims that you may be a phishing site? Do you store the Twitter login password info?

    Reply
  • 21. Julia  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Well done on having a plan that works!!!!!! guess being new at twitter it reflects a score of 18.3 I”M sad now so next plan is for you to email me with ideas on how to increase this?? Have a fantastic day.
    Julia
    Sunshine Coast
    Australia

    Reply
  • 22. Shane  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Hey, I like Twitterank! Want me to make it pretty?

    -Shane

    Reply
  • 23. Shane Simmons  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    I guess I should probably clarify, I fired off the first comment in a fit of such excitement!

    I’d be happy to make a design for Twitterank. I’d do it for free, as it is just a cool idea you’ve got here, and I also just enjoy designing. I’ve got a pretty simple style usually, but I’m open to anything. If you’ve got any ideas of what you think it should look like, I’ll definitely use them. Please email me if you’re at all interested. Perhaps we can at least chat about it. Thanks!

    -Shane

    Reply
  • 24. Tim Bennett  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    There’s a lot of speculation that Twitterrank might be an exceptionally-successful phishing attempt based on the common reassurance of “don’t worry, I don’t save your password”.

    Is there any way you can prove this or allow a trustyworthy third party to independently audit your code and databases?

    Reply
  • 25. heather  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Looks like you’re the twitter topic of the day.

    Reply
  • 26. Char (Online Tutor/Academic Mentor)  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:01 am

    thx for the resource~ just wondering what my rank is out of?

    Reply
  • 27. Scoobey  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:12 am

    What, am I frist? Cool! Anyway — neat app, esp. for one cranked out at 4 am. When I’m alone in hotels I just drink and watch Westerns.

    Reply
  • 28. Scoobey  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:14 am

    P.S.: what they hey: I’m msbellows on Twitter. I tweet about politics, conflict resolution, and life. And yeah, I know it won’t affect my twitterank, which is why I feel ok flogging my own tweets!

    Reply
  • 29. Ben  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:17 am

    How can I include twitterrank on my Twitter mashup? Would be a cool thing to add.

    Reply
  • 30. Hudson  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:05 am

    The highest Twitterank I’ve seen so far is 168.

    Reply
  • 31. Hudson  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:10 am

    If you’re concerned about password theft… Change your password.

    Reply
  • 32. Susan Beebe  |  November 13, 2008 at 2:08 am

    Nice app, cool idea, simple and to the point! But now, what the heck does my score mean? Please clarify .. ok so I have 174 out of X (what is top end score?)… thanks!
    Susan

    Reply
  • 33. lindayaya  |  November 13, 2008 at 3:03 am

    I’m coming up with a new ranking site..it’s going to require you to put your atm card number and pin in to get your rank..k?

    get over the ranking thing people..it doesn’t mean a thing!

    Reply
  • 34. Thoughts on Twitterank | aquariumdrinker  |  November 13, 2008 at 4:44 am

    […] service caught on with lightening speed in the early afternoon with users purportedly hitting the site at a rate of more than one per second, according to the site’s developer. Doing a twitter search on “twitterank” […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


